West Baton Rouge is one of the sixty-four parishes located throughout the state of Louisiana, and was created in the year 1807. West Baton Rouge Parish is part of the Baton Rouge, LA Metropolitan Statistical Area and it includes three incorporated areas (Port Allen, Brusly and Addis) with local police departments, and a parish seat in the city of Port Allen. The West Baton Rouge Sheriff’s Department is responsible for law enforcement in all of the unincorporated areas.

West Baton Rouge parish has a highly rated school system and is one of the few parishes in Louisiana that has privatized school bus services. The West Baton Rouge Museum, located in Port Allen, maintains historical information on West Baton Rouge Parish, while the Town of Addis operates a museum that keeps historical information about the Town of Addis.